This post is also available in: Русский (Russian)
In the first quarter of 2019, New York City police reported 15 hit-and-run accidents. An accident can happen to pedestrians, cyclists, or drivers in vehicles. While you may only read about hit and runs to pedestrians and cyclists in the news, hit and runs involving other vehicles are just as common. It’s an illegal act and could result in criminal charges for the driver who fled the scene. If you’ve been a victim of a hit and run, there’s no guarantee that the other driver will be found by the police. But if they are, they should be held accountable for their actions.
Each state has its own laws regarding hit-and-run crashes. In New York, you must stop and give your insurance information to the other driver. If the other driver is not injured, you can leave the scene after exchanging information. But when someone has an injury, you need to wait for the police to arrive.
A hit-and-run accident could result in property damage, serious injury, or even death. Although all types of accidents are dangerous, hit and runs leave the victims extremely vulnerable. Because the driver of the other vehicle leaves the scene, there may be no one to call the police. As the victim sits in pain, their injuries are likely to worsen. What may have seemed like a minor fender bender could result in a serious injury or even a fatality. Because of this, New York state courts take these incidents seriously.
If you are guilty of a hit-and-run first offense, the penalties tend to be less severe than those for a second or third-time offender. Similarly, the hit-and-run penalty for an incident only involving property damage will not be as harsh as one that involved injuries. For property damage, the penalty is a maximum fine of $250 and a possible jail sentence of a maximum of 15 days. In the event of a moderate injury to the victim, the offender will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and will get a fine between $250 and $500. There is also the potential of jail time and other penalties. There are other factors that influence the severity of the penalty. To learn more about the consequences of fleeing the scene of an accident, you should speak with an attorney.
Victims may get some satisfaction in knowing that the other driver will face criminal charges for their actions. However, their criminal conviction doesn’t give you relief from your financial burden. Between your missed wages, medical bills, and car repairs, you may be drowning in debt. By working with an experienced personal injury lawyer, you can file a civil lawsuit against the other driver. With their help, you can seek compensation for your pain and suffering, loss of enjoyment of life, and accident-related expenses.
Our lawsuit will detail all of the costs of your accident, both economic and non-economic. It’s difficult to place a value on your suffering, but an attorney will guide you through the process. They can work with the other party to negotiate a fair settlement. While it’s rare for personal injury claims to go to trial, yours will go to trial if no agreement is reached.
I was an UBER passenger and the car got rear-ended by a utility van. I called 1-800-HURT-511 since a friend dealt with them before and I was glad I did. My attorney was extremely professional and aggressive when necessary. He was transparent from the start and didn’t complicate things unnecessarily.
Serious team effort from the entire staff to get my work injury case resolved quickly. They built a strong case and kept me in the loop for the duration. This team also delivered on two previous occasions and did it in a very cost-effective way. A faithful customer for life thank you!
I highly recommend HURT-511! When the insurance companies turned me away after a scary scooter accident that nearly killed me, a lawyer at HURT-511 stayed and fought for me and recovered the entire policy! Their staff is well-informed and always available to answer my questions. They treated me like one of their own and I made the right decision to stick with them. Thank you so much!